CAUSE & EFFECT RELATED TO GUNS

I will be deluged again with syllogistic respones from those who want the gun laws downgraded to allow every one who wants one to get one…provided the person is not a convicted felon.
I will welcome the attacks on my point of view that we need less guns on the street; not more guns.

For those of you who want more guns available in our society, perhaps you can explain this cause and effect reality:
There are more guns on the streets of our country now, than ever before. Each year that the number of guns increases, there is a direct relationship to increased deaths by guns

THE LATEST PROOF? POLICE OFFICERS SHOT AND KILLED DURING THE LAST 11 MONTHS HAS REACHED AN ALL TIME HIGH OF 177…WE HAVN’T HAD NUMBERS THAT HIGH SINCE 1978.
THAT’S ABOUT A 38% INCREASE.
Now once again….explain to me why it is that you want more guns available? I must have missed something in your logic the last time we discussed this topic. By the way, many of you gun advocates know police officers….why not ask their opinion?
After all, is any one better qualified with documented experience to have the most logical opinon on this topic. The police function is the only thing which stands between us and anarchy. Oh, I forgot, you probably don’t know that. Bring it on!

+ + + + + + + + + + + + + + + + + + + + + + + + + + + + + + +
MY FRIENDS AT M A A C O ARE THERE TO SERVE YOU.
They take their reputation very seriously. THEY ARE AMERICA’S BODY SHOP….whether it’s body part repair or a great paint job before the real winter arrives. Give them a call 7 6 2 — 5 7 7 7
Craig Schlott and his guys are ready, willing and able to help.
2 4 0 0 GOVERNOR PRINTZ BLVD….tell them Gerry sent you.
+ + + + + + + + + + + + + + + + + + + + + + + + + + + + + + +

46 Responses to “CAUSE & EFFECT RELATED TO GUNS”

  1. Tyler Nixon Says:

    The guns on the street are almost invariably ILLEGAL guns, Gerry, usually stolen. They are certainly not being used according to already stringent gun laws. More laws will only mean less firearms in the hands of law-abiding citizens, not less killings and shootings. Does any logical person believe that the “nine” being carried by some 15 year old criminal is legally acquired? owned? carried? Of course not.

    Your premise that gun controls work is repeatedly disproven over and over by almost every crime statistic compiled. Even a police state and total disarmament of the citizenry would still leave firearms in the hands of criminals who, by definition, disregard laws…especially gun laws.

  2. Tyler Nixon Says:

    P.S. Should we ask the police officers who Tazer unarmed citizens for no good reason other than a power trip? Should we ask the Wilmington police officers who gunned down that Iraq vet like a dog in the street last year? Should we ask the police who conduct raids eventually proven illegal and confiscate legally-owned firearms and then never return them to their rightful owners? Should we ask the cops like the ones in DC who take their sweet time responding to emergency calls while DC’s disarmed citizens are often brutalized in their homes?

    Of course many cops want more gun controls. Many think an armed citizenry is a threat to their power and authority. It is exacty WHY the 2nd amendment exists in the first place.

  3. Nemesis III Says:

    Any chance that between 1600 and 1776 that there just might have been more guns per person in the USA than ever before?
    I’ll assure you that the statistics back then said that the abuse of guns was pretty low.

    This is in answer to “There are more guns on the streets of our country now, than ever before.”

    I would premise that there are more anti-social types than ever before.
    The answer to the gun problem is how to prevent them from getting guns, while allowing honest and law abiding citizens access to their guns.

    Gerry, your gun rants are boring. You narrow the argument. You ignore all the other possibilities. You constantly look to punish the innocent.
    You like to protect those you see as underprivileged, even if they are the dregs of society and have a culture of violence and reckless behavior.

    Of course with your colorful and aberrant track record, we can all see your obvious reasons for understanding, empathy and compassion.

    Good Day.

    PS: Answer the statements. I assure you I know more than enough about
    guns, violence, laws and society to qualify my remarks and observations.
    The observations about you, are just a matter of listening to you on
    radio for over a year.

  4. Gerry Fulcher Says:

    NUMESIS: If they are boring rants, why the hell are you answering them?
    Read, or get a coloring book, or get a hobby; take up golf….do SOMETHING. CAN YOU GIVE ME ANYTHING THAT WILL GIVE ME A REASON TO RESPECT YOU AT ALL?….Or at least give me a reason why you won’t even give a real name. We had a name for people like you;
    p_ _ _ y. Give me some reason to respect anything about you. Give an age, and some kind of trackrecord of experience. Help me out here. I want to get to know you better. Ever see 10 to 15 murdered people? Ever have a gun in your face…ever jump into a knife fight because it’s your job to save lives no matter what the cost? Ever drive 100mph down the new york thruway after a bank robber who just shot a teller? Ever grab a baby out of a destraught mother’s arms before she tried to jump off a roof in the south Bronx?….Ever carry a 7 year old kid six blocks to a hospital emergency room who had been shot in the throat, shot by a law-abiding liquor store owner shooting down the street at a whino who grabbed a bottle off his counter and ran? Ever do anything at all to make yourself an authority on why or how you want to change the laws of this country regarding guns? If not, maybe I could just write you off a do-knowing, know-nothing blowhard who learned how to type. You’re a law and order guy, right. OK, THEN START ACCEPTING THE LAW REGARDING GUN AVAILABILITY. THE LAW IS ON MY SIDE OF THE ARGUMENT….SO LIVE WITH IT…..MEANWHILE, I’LL KEEP RANTING AND ENCOURAGING PEOPLE TO ACCEPT AND LIVE BY THE LAW; NO LESSENING OF THE GUN LAWS.

  5. Nemesis III Says:

    Like I aid, answer the premises.

    You take everything so personal, for yourself and for those you debate.

    You do not have to respect me at all. All you have to do is respect the argument. Our rule of law ignores the caste system. Everyone is created equal.
    I can challenge you to a debate. The debate is decided on facts, not on the debater. Your experience does not make you a MASTER-De-BATER.

    Your reliance on personalities makes you a Master Baiter.
    LOL

    Sorry, I’ll remain anon. Others have recognized your disrespect and abilty to dismiss the arguments of others by dismissing their history or experience. Finding the flaws in people does not diminish their arguments.
    Attacking the person, is not the same of attacking their arguments.

    LOL, BLOGS are not RADIO. You can not just turn OFF the microphone and and finish the argument unopposed. You fabricated so much BS on radio.
    So much was stated out of context.

    Love ya.
    Your frenzied supporters, celebrated your attacks on their common enemies. They ignored what was right and wrong. Appropriate or NoT.
    Hello, LIZ.
    .
    .
    .

  6. Nemesis III Says:

    Gerry,
    I read TPN’s response.
    So what is it – Worry about the cops, or NOT?

    Those insane COPS who TASER? Who you criticized?

    YOUR Arguments would support the ownership of guns in the private possession of legal and non-felony citizens. NOT COPS.
    Who better to protect ourselves. COPS unfortunately succumb to political pressures. Liberals protect the parasites. Liberals like to deplete the hosts.

    Gerry,
    Your opinions would drive a weather forecaster crazy, trying to predict the direction of your wind.

    Making jokes with you looks like an option. Your rants are too easy to dispel. I answer so someone with a lesser IQ, does not mistake your comments for valid statements.

    .

  7. Gerry Fulcher Says:

    NUMESIS: THANK YOU, you solved the problem for me….I finally understand that we come from two different worlds…..you come the world of talking. (debating) etc. …it’s something that any one with a mouth can do…..you define success as being able to stay afloat in a pool of medicrity. TALK, TALK TALK TALK…DO YOU “GET OFF” ON TALKING?
    Talkers are all over the world, and they accomplish nothing, nothing!
    I come a from a world where it is what you actually can DO that matters, not what you can SAY.
    YOU’R A SAYER, I’M A DOER. ASIDE FROM THE PERSONAL PRIDE YOU PROBABLY TAKE FROM WINNING A DEBATE, who the hell benefits from it?
    I TAKE THAT SAME PERSONAL PRIDE FROM WHAT I ACTUALLY DO FOR PEOPLE.
    OOOPPPS I FEEL ONE OF THOSE SELF-SERIVING PERSONAL EXPERIENCE EXAMPLES COMING ON, WHICH YOU HATE SO MUCH.
    IN 1976 I CAME HERE AND HEARD ABOUT ALL THESE HUMAN SERVICE NEEDS THAT PEOPLE WERE TALKING AND TALKING AND TALKING ABOUT.
    I went and used my talent for GRANT WRITING…..I obtained $808,000 in federal money for numerous agencies in this state;
    Wilmington College $100,000 ’76/ Diocese of Wilmington $300,000 ’78/ Methodist Action Program $382,000 ’81/ Delaware Coumcil On Gambling Problems $15,000 ’83/ United Way $3,000 ’81/ Delaware Humanities Forum $2,000 ’82 St. Peter’s Senior Center $6,000 ’82.
    Now tell me something; which of us actually DID something for people in need…good debaters or good grant writers? I even have a bible quote on this topic….”Be ye DOERS of the word, and not hearers only” (St. JOhn). Sorry, but since you are a sayer and debater, and NOT a doer,
    I will probably never answer your comments again…..I finally realize how far apart we will always be. I have no time for talkers….only DOERS. Good night and goodbye

  8. Duffy Says:

    Gerry,

    Typically, bloggers will cite sources for statistics like those stated above. Where did you get them?

  9. Gerry Fulcher Says:

    DUFFY WHO KNOWS SO MUCH……
    A computer expert like yourself, must know how to use google.
    Google National Association of Chiefs of Police report on police deaths in 2007 so far. It’s the third item down
    POLICE DEATHS At 30-YEAR HIGH SO FAR IN 2007.
    Of course, I’m sure you’ll come up with some original spin as to why the Chiefs are lying…or something else to serve your view and to denigrate my position……That’s OK, I’ve come to expect it of you by now.

  10. Duffy Says:

    Gerry,

    You really do have very thin skin. I asked a simple question and you can’t help but having a tantrum.

    You made an assertion of fact with no links to anything. As a “real” writer you should know that the onus is on you to provide sources for facts.

    I have an honest question, no BS; Why are you blogging? Are you seeking to engage people or would rather we all just shut up unless we completely agree with you?

  11. Gerry Fulcher Says:

    DUFFY…..I don’t know why I waste my time with you….but I’ll humor you once more….what you call “this skin” is merely distain toward people who are just talkers and/or writers who have never ever actually DONE anything to right wrongs. I think you fall into that category. What you call a “tantrum” is merely passion accompanied by action to change things.

    Why didn’t you admit in your comments that I did give you the source of the information you asked about (googling National Association Chiefs Of Police Report?.. Why can’t you say; “Thanks for the information, Gerry. Now at least I see where you got the information for your statisitcs on the 30% increase of police officers killed in the line of duty”.

    And, now for your ultimate question.. “WHY ARE YOU BLOGGING, GERRY”? Good question….the answer. It is the same
    reason, that I went on the radio…to change things which my experience and insights tell me are wrong by exposing those things, and making suggestions that will improve those things.
    Did any one else tell you about the Michael Brown thing…..and now I will work like hell to get him recalled, or help any opponent he has to get him out of the city council position?
    The guy who was screwing up the Hope Commission effort just left….
    I applied for the job; told them the pay was too high ($100,000, and I wouldn’t take that kind of money) but I sure as hell will do that job;
    because I did it in Albany New York; Atlantic City, and Reading Pennsylvania…the exact thing that Hope Commission is supposedly doing.
    Lots of people TALKED AND WROTE about the Representative Atkins case:
    did any of them go the Secrets and actually see photos of his activity, or go the bar in Delaware where he switched cars to illegally drive home; or make inside contacts with police in Ocean City and Millsboro to find out about tapes of that evening…and the go and literally force the ethics committee to investigate the case,,,which they had no intention of doing before they received my stuff? DO YOU FINALLY SEE THE DIFFERENCE, DUFFY BETWEEN TALKING., WRTIING, AND DOING?
    See, you have an obsession with attacking every single position I take; just of the sake of attacking it…..you do nothing for society or to improve this community….you have nothing to offer except anonymous comments to blogs…what a wasted life!
    Now; one last time….you constantly criticize me about not being a good “Writer”. So, let’s see now, I have two choices….I can either believe the likes of a Duffy; OR, I can believe actual publishers who pay me to write national articles , and a publisher who offers me a contract to write two books. Whose opinion about my writing should I take, Duffy?
    GET THE POINT, YET?

  12. Gerry Fulcher Says:

    I HAVE THE MOST DEFINITIVE SOURCES OF MY INFORMATION ON THE RELATIONSHIP BETWEEN MORE GUNS AND MORE DEATH OF MORE COPS:
    1. Because a good friend of mine had his face shot off by a non-felon who purchased his gun legally.
    2. Because every cop I know today, and the hundreds and hundreds and haundreds and hundreds of the cops I’ve trained, and/or worked with, over 30 years agrees with me. That many hundreds I taught in four colleges in three stares, are totally against changing the gun laws.
    3. Because there has been an increase of shootings of cops since the number of guns on the street, and in homes. The incidents family violence with the use of guns has gone up; and when cops are killed in such cases they are usually killed by non-felons who have legal guns (domestic cases)
    4. The country whose laws you love so much, being the good American you are….says the MY position on this gun topic is the right one. The onus is on YOU to prove you’re right….for how many decades have people like you been losing the argument?

  13. Duffy Says:

    DUFFY…..what you call “this skin” is merely distain [sic] toward people who are just talkers and/or writers who have never ever actually DONE anything to right wrongs. I think you fall into that category. What you call a “tantrum” is merely passion accompanied by action to change things.

    You’re making assumptions something you know nothing about. You prize yourself as some sort of moral crusading do-gooder. You practically need a cape and cowl if you’re going to go any further out on this ledge.

    Why didn’t you admit in your comments that I did give you the source of the information you asked about

    Is an admission really required? I was merely asking you to cite your sources. Did your editors bow and scrape when (read: if) you ever sourced your articles? Thanks for the information Gerry? (Happy now?)

    And, now for your ultimate question.. “WHY ARE YOU BLOGGING, GERRY”? Good question….the answer. It is the same
    reason, that I went on the radio…to change things which my experience and insights tell me are wrong by exposing those things, and making suggestions that will improve those things.

    OK, you’re a man on a mission. That’s fine but not everyone blogs for that reason. I’d wager that many people just use blogging as an outlet for their thoughts not for civic change. To each his own. Each has value.

    Did any one else tell you about the Michael Brown thing…..and now I will work like hell to get him recalled, or help any opponent he has to get him out of the city council position?

    No and that was, indeed a good post. If the allegations are true, I support your efforts to get him booted out.

    The guy who was screwing up the Hope Commission effort just left….
    I applied for the job; told them the pay was too high ($100,000, and I wouldn’t take that kind of money) but I sure as hell will do that job;

    A very strange bargaining tactic. Do you offer to pay more for items which are underpriced?

    …DO YOU FINALLY SEE THE DIFFERENCE, DUFFY BETWEEN TALKING., WRTIING [sic], AND DOING?

    Yes but again, that’s not the sole reason for the existence of blogs.

    See, you have an obsession with attacking every single position I take; just of the sake of attacking it…..you do nothing for society or to improve this community….you have nothing to offer except anonymous comments to blogs…what a wasted life!

    Not so. I’ve asked some questions and attempted to make counterpoints and yes, point out errors. That doesn’t mean I am simply being a contrarian. I could have posted “Hooray for Gerry” about the slimy politician but what does that add? You’re making it pretty clear that you don’t like anyone who doesn’t agree with you completely or who isn’t in some sort of a position of power. That’s all well and good but keep it up and very shortly your readership will be down to zero which isn’t going to make you a very good agent for change.

    Now; one last time….you constantly criticize me about not being a good “Writer”. So, let’s see now, I have two choices….I can either believe the likes of a Duffy; OR, I can believe actual publishers who pay me to write national articles , and a publisher who offers me a contract to write two books. Whose opinion about my writing should I take, Duffy?
    GET THE POINT, YET?

    Take whatever opinion you wish. Based on your stuff I can see that writing for a living can’t be all that difficult. Looks like I wasted all my time working at an actual job instead of writing misspelled, error ridden tripe rife with logical fallacies and leaps of logic so large that Evel Kineval would balk at attempting them on a motorcycle.

  14. Duffy Says:

    Here we go again:

    I HAVE THE MOST DEFINITIVE SOURCES OF MY INFORMATION ON THE RELATIONSHIP BETWEEN MORE GUNS AND MORE DEATH OF MORE COPS:
    1. Because a good friend of mine had his face shot off by a non-felon who purchased his gun legally.
    2. Because every cop I know today, and the hundreds and hundreds and haundreds and hundreds of the cops I’ve trained, and/or worked with, over 30 years agrees with me. That many hundreds I taught in four colleges in three stares, are totally against changing the gun laws.

    These are anecdotal examples that in no way reinforce your argument. That is like saying that since you’ve been driving a car for 30 years you can extrapolate personal experience to tell me about auto industry trends, sales volume, consumer preference, traffic safety, highway planning and maintenance etc. The two do not track. Personal experience is valuable but does not allow you to make informed statements about things on a policy level.


    3. Because there has been an increase of shootings of cops since the number of guns on the street, and in homes. The incidents family violence with the use of guns has gone up; and when cops are killed in such cases they are usually killed by non-felons who have legal guns (domestic cases)

    Where are you getting this information? Where is the data? We can’t have anything approaching a debate if you’re going to cite vague statistics w/o supporting them. The onus is on you to provide them. You have to support your argument.

    4. The country whose laws you love so much, being the good American you are….says the MY position on this gun topic is the right one. The onus is on YOU to prove you’re right….for how many decades have people like you been losing the argument?

    Too many. These laws aren’t made by the plebiscite but by the elected officials and in some cases, the courts. Further, facts are not based on popular opinion. If they were the world would have been flat, the earth would have been the center of the universe and so on.

    Supporting my position:
    * New Jersey adopted what sponsors described as “the most stringent gun law” in the nation in 1966; two years later, the murder rate was up 46 percent and the reported robbery rate had nearly doubled.

    * In 1968, Hawaii imposed a series of increasingly harsh measures and its murder rate, then a low 2.4 per 100,000 per year, tripled to 7.2 by 1977.

    * In 1976, Washington, D.C., enacted one of the most restrictive gun control laws in the nation. Since then, the city’s murder rate has risen 134 percent while the national murder rate has dropped 2 percent.

    Morgan O. Reynolds, Crime By Choice: An Economic Analysis (Dallas: Fisher Institute, 1985), pp. 165-68.

    see also the previously referenced work by former Yale University researcher Dr. John Lott; “More Guns, less crime”

  15. Gerry Fulcher Says:

    DUFFY: you’re right about one thing…namely I certainly don’t have the time or desire to worry about format and image when it comes to blogging. “Why cast pearls before swine” (go ahead and get back at me for that one)
    But when it comes to national publication, I do dot all the Is and cross all the Ts.
    I’m going to give all you guys a chance to come out of the closet,
    which you probably won’t do.
    I will be teaching my freelance writing course at Borders (starting the first week in February) , which I have done in the past.

    FREELANCE WRITING; HOW TO GET PUBLISHED AND PAID
    It’s a 10 hour course (2 1/2 hours on four successive Monday evenings from 7pm until 9:30pm). I charge $58.
    If you don’t get something published within 60 days of following my format, I return the fee. I have NEVER had to return the fee. If people don’t get published, it’s always because they won’t follow the format.
    It’s not optional…what I teach MUST be followed, or it won’t work.
    This coming Monday I will put all the particulars in my blog.
    My view regarding respecting the opinion of others is predicated on one simple fact;
    Does the person have the background, experience, and firsthand knowledge of the topic? If they don’t, there is no reason why their opinion should be respected.
    You said you had a real job; ok, tell me what the field was, and express your opinion related to that field…and believe me, I will show total respect for your opinion, and I won’t dare to challenge it; because I will merely summit and say; “He must be right, because he knows so much more about the subject than I do.” Opinions ain’t worth anything without the background, experience and firsthand knowledge to give them credibility. As I often say, most unfounded opinions are nothing but “a diarrhea of words expressing a constipation of thought”…..that is how a college professor once described my term paper…and he was right.

  16. Gerry Fulcher Says:

    I JUST LOVE IT, DUFFY….DON’T TRY THAT SYLLOGISM CRAP WITH ME.
    A syllogism is major premise/ minor premise/ conclusion/
    Your agument is based on a false major premise; the the conclusion comes out the way you want it tl
    I did NOT say;
    “Gun related crimes will decrease if we have strong gun control laws”
    “We have strong guncontrol laws and gun related crimes did not decrease”
    “Therefore we don’t need strong gun control laws”.
    If you start with a false major premise, you will come to a false conclusion.
    That’s what you think wins your arugment…but I never said that.

    I did say this :
    “More guns will be availble to more people”
    “Gun use will increase siginificantly”
    “Therefore more killings and injuries will inevitably take place”

    Logic is not a natural gift. Logic a learned talent. Take a damn course in it and then live and learn its relationship to real life experience.
    Enough said….Think logically; the more guns you make available the more people will use them…the more deaths and injury will result; more gun thefts will take place, more unintended accidents will take place, cops will shoot more people, because they can presume that more crisis situations will include gun use. etc. etc. etc. etc. etc.
    As automobile increased so did the number of accidents. I’m NOT saying, let’s take cars off the road. Just admit the logic is solid. We NEED carsl what’s you argument for NEEDING more guns?

  17. Nemesis III Says:

    Gerry’s argument from above is so narrowly proposed,
    as to have little or no significant meaning.
    ===
    I did say this :
    “More guns will be availble to more people”
    “Gun use will increase siginificantly”
    “Therefore more killings and injuries will inevitably take place”
    ===
    There is no surprise conclusion.
    Gerry thinks this is an argument for more gun control? NOT.
    This argument might work to suggest that we do not manufacture more
    guns.
    But if we, The USA, does not manufacture more guns, what will the other countries do? DUH! Manufacture more guns themselves.
    what about all the guns already out there?
    ===
    === An equivalent logical observation would be.
    “More HAMBURGERS will be availble to more people”
    “HAMBURGER EATING will increase siginificantly”
    “Therefore more OBESITY and RESULTANT DEATH will inevitably take place”

    LIKEWISE:
    We could save the lives of more COPS if we banned DONUTS.

    ===>> For now, LETS BAN HAMBURGERS!!!
    It will save more lives and not upset the police.
    ====================================

    From M-W = Miriam Webster Dictionary ==
    syllogism

    1 : a deductive scheme of a formal argument consisting of a major and a minor premise and a conclusion (as in “every virtue is laudable; kindness is a virtue; therefore kindness is laudable”)
    2 : a subtle, specious, or crafty argument
    3 : deductive reasoning syllogism
    =====
    GERRY, TAKE A HARD LOOK AT
    #2. a subtle, specious, or crafty argument.

    Specious: ===> “having a false look of truth or genuineness”.

  18. Gerry Fulcher Says:

    Are you sure you guys don’t belong to some circular reasoning cult or something? Why aren’t you watching the Delaware football game, or doing something normal?
    What the hell did you guys do before blogs….sit around in a circle jerk, indulging in an intellectual mental mastebation show and tell?

    LETS GO TO MOTIVATION…..what do you possibly think that my motivation could be, if not to save unnecessary deaths and injuries that I KNOW will increase if gun laws are changed to give them to any one who who want one? Go ahead, take a shot at my movtivation.
    I spent a significant time in a job that involved carrying a gun 24 hours a day. NYPD required carrying our gun on and off duty. I had to use it on several occasions. I could have used many more times, but didn’t because I was able to solve the issue with logic and talking. I have chosen to defend an existing law….wherein is that a bad thing?
    YOU people, on the otherhand, have the burden to prove two things;
    which you have not even attempted;
    1. YOU PROVE WHY MORE GUNS ARE NEEDED IN MILLIONS OF MORE HANDS.
    2. YOU PROVE WHY YOU DON’T THINK THAT MORE PEOPLE WILL DIE AND/OR BE INJURED IF ANY ONE WHO WANTS A GUN CAN HAVE ONE.
    And of course, I don’t have to remind you about substantiating everything with facts, figures, footnotes and notorized documents.
    And while you are doing that, I will go back to my football game, in you don’t freakin’ mind. By the way, tough guys, I presume you will be signing up for my freelance writing course (check out my monday’s blog for details)……or is that too much of a “coming out” for you memmers the nameless trio club?
    By the way….since you are so adroit at reasoning,….please give me the REAL reason you do not use real names? That’s something I will NEVER understand.

  19. Nemesis III Says:

    Where did Gerry get his numbers?

    Read this from Philly Inquirer……….. NOT FROM HERE! ………
    http://www.philly.com/inquirer/front_page/20071113_Troubling_rise_in_shooting_of_police.html

    Posted on Tue, Nov. 13, 2007
    Troubling rise in shooting of police
    63 have died by the gun in the U.S. this year.

    “Going into this year, police deaths nationwide were at modern lows – far below 1973, when 134 officers were killed feloniously in the line of duty, according to the FBI. Last year, the FBI said, 48 officers were killed, including Gary Skerski, the Philadelphia officer who was shot in the face when he interrupted a robbery in progress.”
    ============
    When Gerry does not supply the link,
    everyone should suspect his statements.

  20. Nemesis III Says:

    Delaware is losing.
    Looking for a locker room miracle.
    Half time.

  21. Nemesis III Says:

    We cross posted.

    Your stats on shootings, originally posted at the top,
    does not match the Philly Inquirer, November 17, 2007.

    What say you?

  22. Gerry Fulcher Says:

    I’LL SAY ONE MORE FREAKIN’ TIME….besides th second is about to stert.

    I first heard it on Fox…they never lie do that.
    cops killed so far this years……170 up 38% highest since 1978

    Then I went to google….
    National association of chiefs of police about police kill so far this years
    It was the third item down….
    cop death up 30% so are this year
    NO WILL YOU LEAVE ME THE F_ _ _K ALONE…THANK YOU.

  23. Gerry Fulcher Says:

    Amazing….I ask you to give me some vital information, you ignore that, and all you want to kow is why the Phily Inquirer is different from National association of chiefs of police….I don’t know, YOU figure it out.
    My stuff was in December…and your qoute was from November 17th…maybe that’s the difference, who the hell knows…..is this really all you have to do.
    I’m going from annoyance to pity for your pathetic lack of insight.

  24. Nemesis III Says:

    Gerry,
    You quoted “POLICE OFFICERS SHOT AND KILLED DURING THE LAST 11 MONTHS HAS REACHED AN ALL TIME HIGH OF 177”

    The Philly Inquire states that the record was 143 in 1973.
    Last year it was 48.

    IF 177 officers were shot and killed this year, that would be some serious news. Where did you get it?

    At this point the primary reason to post to your blog,
    is to challenge your statements and sources.
    Duffy has already done a fair job at refuting your
    illogical constructions.

  25. Nemesis III Says:

    Gerry,
    In ten previous years, the average is 58 officers a year.
    WAY different than your 177 as of December 2007.
    One would surmise that if Officer deaths increased three-fold,
    that would be news.

    =========================
    Source:
    http://www.ojp.usdoj.gov/bjs/homicide/leok.htm

    The number of law enforcement officers killed in the line of duty has declined since the early 1970’s

    Between 1996 and 2005, of the 575 officers killed —

    * 26% were in arrest situations
    * 18% were in ambush situations
    * 18% were making traffic pursuits/stops
    * 17% were on disturbance calls
    * 12% were investigating suspicious persons/circumstances
    * 10% were in other situations

    Of the 662 assailants identified in the killing of law enforcement officers from
    1996-2005 —

    * more than half had a prior conviction
    * 2 out of 5 had a prior arrest for a violent crime.

  26. Nemesis III Says:

    Here the average over ten years id 58 officers a year.
    A huge difference from 177 for this year as of December.

    =================
    http://www.ojp.usdoj.gov/bjs/homicide/leok.htm

    The number of law enforcement officers killed in the line of duty has declined since the early 1970’s

    Between 1996 and 2005, of the 575 officers killed —

    * 26% were in arrest situations
    * 18% were in ambush situations
    * 18% were making traffic pursuits/stops
    * 17% were on disturbance calls
    * 12% were investigating suspicious persons/circumstances
    * 10% were in other situations

    Of the 662 assailants identified in the killing of law enforcement officers from
    1996-2005 —

    * more than half had a prior conviction
    * 2 out of 5 had a prior arrest for a violent crime.

  27. Nemesis IIII Says:

    The number of law enforcement officers killed in the line of duty has declined since the early 1970’s

    Between 1996 and 2005, of the 575 officers killed —

    * 26% were in arrest situations
    * 18% were in ambush situations
    * 18% were making traffic pursuits/stops
    * 17% were on disturbance calls
    * 12% were investigating suspicious persons/circumstances
    * 10% were in other situations

    Of the 662 assailants identified in the killing of law enforcement officers from
    1996-2005 —

    * more than half had a prior conviction
    * 2 out of 5 had a prior arrest for a violent crime.

  28. Nemesis IIII Says:

    Source:

    http://www.ojp.usdoj.gov/bjs/homicide/leok.htm

  29. Data from Nemesis III Says:

    USA Today 2007-10-14

    http://www.usatoday.com/news/nation/2007-10-14-copshoot_N.htm

    As of Tuesday, 60 officers had been fatally shot this year, up 54% from the same period last year, according to the National Law Enforcement Memorial Fund in Washington, D.C., which tracks officer fatalities. There already have been more fatal shootings of officers this year than in all of 2006, when there were 52 such slayings, a decline from 59 in 2005. The rate of police slayings began to accelerate in late 2006, and the trend has continued this year.

  30. Gerry Fulcher Says:

    I WILL LEAVE IT UP TO YOU EXPERTS TO WRESTLE WITH THE FACTS
    At 6:26 am Saturday morning, I googled “Police Deaths at 170 in 2007 up from 145 in 2006” and this is what I got:
    “North Little Rock Times Online-News
    And ABC News piece Monday night on violence said that 170 police officers have been killed in the line of duty in 2007 , up from 145 last year.

    All of that aside, let me get back to the real issue which you have totally avoided. My request was:
    1, MAKE THE CASE FOR ME AS TO THE POSITIVE ADVANTAGES OF PUTTING MILLIONS OF MORE GUNS IN THE HANDS OF MILLIONS OF MORE PEOPLE.

    2. TELL ME WHY THERE WILL NOT BE A MASSIVE INCREASE IN DEATHS, INJURIES, ACCIDENTS, GUN THEFTS, SUICIDES, AND ALL THE OTHER THINGS THAT EXIST NOW…..
    You people have discussed everthing EXCEPT what I asked you to do.
    OH, GOD, HOW I WOULD HAVE LOVED TO HAVE SEEN YOU THREE GUN CONTROL AUTHORITIES WALK A BEAT ON SIMPSON STREET OR IN ST. MARY’S PARK, JUST ONE MIDNIGHT TO 8AM SHIFT IN THE 41ST PRECINCT–FORT APPARCHEE….JUST ON TOUR

  31. Data from Nemesis III Says:

    Outrage Of The Week! An Inane Statement

    Friday, December 14, 2007

    Gerry,
    Not all guns are bad, and some owners are good and responsible.
    If there is an argument you ignore, it is all about the legal and lawful
    gun owners.
    Apparently, at the New Life Church in Colorado, a law-abiding, armed citizen DID make a difference.

    Nemesis III unless you have me blocked.
    =================================

    This week’s outrage comes courtesy of MSNBC’s “Morning Joe” show co-host Mika Brzezinski, who apparently has a very hard time laying aside her anti-gun sentiments, even when confronted with the truth.

    We all know that firearms are used as many as two and a half million times a year for self-defense. And, as we recently saw graphically demonstrated in the senseless shootings at the New Life Church in Colorado, a law-abiding, armed citizen can make a difference.

  32. Data from Nemesis III Says:

    Gerry,
    You continue personal attacks:
    What does our opinion have with your wish that: “OH, GOD, HOW I WOULD HAVE LOVED TO HAVE SEEN YOU THREE GUN CONTROL AUTHORITIES WALK A BEAT ON SIMPSON STREET OR IN ST. MARY’S PARK, JUST ONE MIDNIGHT TO 8AM SHIFT IN THE 41ST PRECINCT–FORT APPARCHEE….JUST ON TOUR”

    ILLOGICAL, Ad HOMINEM attack. Misdirection.
    The more you disrespect us,
    the more you lose respect from us.

    Gerry, everyone has the right to question the Experts,
    even questionable experts like your proclaimed self.

    OH, PS, you invoked God. Do you still believe in HIM?
    .
    .

  33. Gerry Fulcher Says:

    NEMESIS: I swear, conversing with you guys makes me I think I’m back teaching at Northeast psychiatric hospital. Who are you trying to jerk around—the women who thankfully killed the mad man in that church was not some “law-abiding citizen” (as you tried to portray her. She was a former police officer and a licensed security guard….and you know it; and you tried to throw that lying curve ball. I was a catcher; I know the pitches
    Ok, I’ll try once more; now listen closely you special ed rejects:
    1. LET’S SAY THAT THERE ARE 500 ACCIDENTAL SHOOTINGS IN HOMES NATIONWIDE TODAY…WITH THE PRESENT LAW AND THE PRESENT NUMBER OF PEOPLE WITH GUNS…TELL ME WHY THERE WILL NOT BE THOUSANDS MORE ACCIDENTAL SHOOTINGS WITH MILLIONS OF MORE PEOPLE HAVING GUNS? ANSWER THE FREAKIN’ QUESTION.

    2. LET’S SAY THAT THERE ARE 100 BAD POLICE SHOOTINGS BY COPS WHO THINK A GUY HAS A GUN AND MAKES A MOVE TODAY, NATIONWIDE WITH THE PRESENT GUN LAWS…..WHY WON’T THERE BE MANY, MANY MANY MORE SUCH BAD SHOOTINGS WHEN COPS CAN PRESUME THAT ALMOST EVERYBODY HAS A GUN WITH THE NEW LAW YOU WANT? ANSWER THAT QUESTION.

    3. LET’S SAY THAT THERE ARE 200 CASES A YEAR OF KIDS GETTING A HOLD OF THE FAMILY GUN TODAY NATIONWIDE AND KILLING THEMSELVES OR A FRIEND IN THE HOUSE…..WHY CAN’T WE SAY THAT
    THAT STATISIC WOULD SIGNIFICANTLY MULTIPLY IF MILLIONS OF MORE HOMES HAVE MILLIONS OF MORE GUNS AVAILABLE IN HOMES….
    I i could go on with many more examples, but even intellectual pygmies like you; should be able to get the point….SO GO AHEAD AND GIVE ME YOUR VERSION OF LOGIC, AND TELL ME WHY MY VERSION DOESN’T MAKE SENSE

  34. Data from Nemesis III Says:

    Gerry,
    Here is MORE data.
    Now there are 182 deaths of officers.
    ONLY 66 from GunShots.
    81 in Traffic Accidents
    LOGICALLY, LETS BAN CARS.
    MORE CARS ==> MORE POLICE DEATHS…. YOUR LOGIC.
    NEMESIS III.
    ===============

    From: http://www.nleomf.org/

    Preliminary 2007 Law Enforcement Officer Fatality Statistics
    as of December 15

    2007 2006 %Change
    Total Fatalities 182 141 +29%
    Gunshots 66 50 +32%
    Traffic Incidents 81 71 +14%
    Other Causes 35 20 +7
    .
    .
    .

  35. Gerry Fulcher Says:

    OK,SINCE YOU PLAYED THE “RESPECT CARD”….I AM MORE THAN HAPPY TO ANSWER…..YOU ARE RIGHT, IT HAVE VIRTUALLY NO RESPECT FOR YOU GUY AS SOON AS I SEE A PHONY NAME UP ON THE SCREAM, YOU SEE I ONLY KNOW A VERY LIMITED NUMBER OF CATEGORIES OF PEOPLE WHO WANT TO BE ANONYMOUS…SEX OFFENDERS/ GUILITY CRIMINALS/ IDIOTS/ PEOPLE ASHAMED OF THEMSELVES/ CANDY ASS CHICKENS WHO LIVE IN FEAR. Care to tell me if any of those descriptive adjectives fit?
    As for you not respectING me! My God! (whom I served well in a lot of capacities, that you can’t match)–since you also asked about God.
    Are you guys even considering that I might actually want any respect from the likes of you three?
    As I said…no real name….deserves no respect at all. Also, I believe in
    the statement “show me who your friends are, and I’ll show you what you are” If I had supporters like you guys….I’d really be in bad shape,
    That’s my rule…no real name…no respect.
    And I won’t lose you as readers or commentators….because I know what presses your buttons….and as long as I press the button, you’ll keep answering the door…why? Because you guys got no life other than commenting on blogs. Right now I have to go and workout a bit, since I have to spend part of tomorrow catching my son’s 94 mph pitches, and splitters, and sliders….and he will probably hit me a few hurtful times even with my catcher’s equipment on. And he comes way ahead of me chatting with you.

  36. Data from Nemesis III Says:

    Gerry,
    As you say:”I was a catcher; I know the pitches”.
    You are a Bullshitter, and I am sure you know that routine also.

    The gunman was killed by a member of the church’s armed security staff before police arrived, Myers said.

    DUH, BEFORE THE POLICE ARRIVED.
    Rev. Brady Boyd, senior pastor of New Life Church, said the church had a security plan in place.

    “I’m proud of the way our team responded,” he said. “Many, many lives were saved because of the quick action of some committed volunteers at our church.”

    VOLUNTEERS???????

    Police arrived to find that the gunman had been killed by a member of the church’s armed security staff, Myers said.

    “There was a courageous staff member who probably saved many lives here today,” Myers said.
    === More ====
    Later, at New Life Church, a gunman wearing a trench coat and carrying a high-powered rifle opened fire in the parking lot and later walked into the church as a service was letting out.

    Jeanne Assam, a church member who volunteers as a security guard, shot Murray, who was found with a rifle and two handguns, police said.

    Assam said she believes God gave her the strength to confront Murray, keeping her calm and focused.

    “It seemed like it was me, the gunman and God,” she said at a news conference.

    The pastor credited her with preventing more bloodshed.

    “There could have been a great loss of life yesterday, and she probably saved over 100 lives.”

    Boyd said the gunman had a lot of ammunition and estimated that 40 rounds had been fired inside the church, leaving what looked like a “war scene.”
    ==== Finally http://www.denverpost.com/news/ci_7683781 ==
    At about that moment, Assam turned a corner with a drawn handgun, walked toward the gunman and yelled “Surrender!” Bourbonnais said.

    The gunman pointed a handgun at Assam and fired three shots, Bourbonnais said. She returned fire and just kept walking toward the gunman pressing off round after round.

    After the gunman went down, Bourbonnais asked Assam, a volunteer security guard with the church, how she remained so calm and focused.

    Bourbonnais said she replied:

    “I was asking the Holy Spirit to guide me the entire time.”

    Kieran Nicholson: 303-954-1822 or knicholson@denverpost.com

    === So she was a volunteer off duty security guard,
    No Mention of being a POLICE OFFICER ===

    Gerry, you lie like a rug, and defy people to keep up with your
    made up and unsubstantiated BULLSHIT.

    NO OFFENSE, you are probably just a sick person.
    Were you a peer instructor at the Psych hospital?

    Your Gambling. is still with you, you gamble that no one can find
    the facts to refute the critical facts that you make up,
    misinterpret and then misapply logically.

    === Then WHAT, BAN my posts? Block my ID? ====

  37. Data from Nemesis III Says:

    SO:
    “Right now I have to go and workout a bit, since I have to spend part of tomorrow catching my son’s 94 mph pitches, and splitters, and sliders….and he will probably hit me a few hurtful times even with my catcher’s equipment on. And he comes way ahead of me chatting with you.”

    Did Ireland turn you and your son down?
    I read your letter. Research.

  38. Gerry Fulcher Says:

    MAN ON MAN….JUST WHEN I SEE THINK YOU ARE AS DUMB AS YOU CAN GER, YOU SURPRISE ME WITH AN EVEN LOWER LEVEL OF RETARDATION.
    THE WOMAN WHO SHOT THE GUY IN THE CHURCH WAS A FORMER POLICE OFFICER, FORMER POLICE OFFICER, FORMER POLICE OFFICER, FORMER POLICE OFFICER……in other words she is the type that should be allowed to have a gun….I WAN’T STOP ALLEGED FORMER CATCHERS FROM DELAWARE, LIKE YOU NOT BE ABLE TO HAVE A GUN…IF YOU WERE IN HER POSTION WITH A GUN YOU PROBABLY WOULD HAVE SHOT YOURSELF IN THE JOHNSON…..AS I SAID…I HEARD HER INTERVIEW…SHE WAS A FORMER POLICE OFFICER….and by the way, when you were a catcher they didn’t have splitters…so you DON’T know Apitches….I’d like to see you at 70 years of age being able to catch a 94 mph low pitch from 6 foot 2 inch 23 year old…..take me up on that challenge. Ireland never had the baseball league they were planning…Brian will be fine…he’s already had offers from several foreign….and to your dispay the Phillies are looking at him in this winter league…but I’ll have a hard time letting him play for a team with the dumbest fans in the world. Mets talked to me about him too; now THAT’S where want to see him. WHY CAN’T YOU ANSWER THE LAST THREE QUESTIONS I ASKED? Neve mind, I know why…YOU HAVE NO ANSWER……..Don’t forget to stay up late tonight and watch your mentor, Gomer Pyle

  39. Data from Nemesis III Says:

    Gerry,
    Insults, do nor refute the FACTS.

    The posts I found did not mention that She was a former police officer.

    Maybe you did hear that, but You and I are obviously not tuned into the same station.
    I can link to the posts I read. How can Anyone monitor what you say you have heard?
    Like your anonymous sources and your anonymous Psychiatrist.

  40. Gerry Fulcher Says:

    Well, now there are two things you’ve got to improve, you thinking AND
    your listening….it was mentioned both on Fox and Cnn. It makes sense.
    What do you think the pastor does, pick some one out of the first pew and say “Hey, Mary Jane, are you ‘packin’ this morning? Would serve as our security expert for today’s services?” Churches all over the country usually have former cops, or present cops acting in that capacity. (usually protecting the money room). Didn’t we have an off duty State trouper make an arrest in the money room of one of our churches about 2 weeks ago?
    And you were no catcher!…..no catcher I ever knew would ever hide under and anonymous name. You know there is another reason that you and your boys might be hiding behind the anonymous tag…perhaps you all have enough dirt in your backgrounds that other blog readers and commenters could blow your cover if they knew your names, and would expose you crap…..that’t probably the real reason you and your chicken hawk friends are afraid to come out of the closet…..OH, wait, maybe you are part of that other group of guys that like to stay “in the closet”; not that that would make you a bad person—but it would explain some of your viewpoints……….

  41. Data from Nemesis III Says:

    Let me repeat myself
    === Gerry said ====
    I did say this :
    “More guns will be availble to more people”
    “Gun use will increase siginificantly”
    “Therefore more killings and injuries will inevitably take place”
    === I replied ====

    === An equivalent logical observation would be.
    “More HAMBURGERS will be availble to more people”
    “HAMBURGER EATING will increase siginificantly”
    “Therefore more OBESITY and RESULTANT DEATH will inevitably take place”

    LIKEWISE:
    We could save the lives of more COPS if we banned DONUTS.

    ======== So Back to your TWO questions, not 3 ====
    All of that aside, let me get back to the real issue which you have totally avoided. My request was:
    1, MAKE THE CASE FOR ME AS TO THE POSITIVE ADVANTAGES OF PUTTING MILLIONS OF MORE GUNS IN THE HANDS OF MILLIONS OF MORE PEOPLE.

    2. TELL ME WHY THERE WILL NOT BE A MASSIVE INCREASE IN DEATHS, INJURIES, ACCIDENTS, GUN THEFTS, SUICIDES, AND ALL THE OTHER THINGS THAT EXIST NOW….

    === A reply,
    1) There is no positive advantage to JUST putting millions more guns
    on the streets.

    Reply in detail, that does not mean that we should prevent legal and lawful persons from acquiring and using their guns for self defense, defense of their families, homes and friends. The problem is the criminals,
    and their behavior. Legal guns do more to prevent crime than to contribute to it.
    Gerry, you are so sick, that you believe everyone is as reckless and as morally decayed as you are. There are good people out there. There are responsible people out there. I understand, as a cop you have come to see the dark side of society, as the only side. You are prejudicial against good honest people. As a Gambler, you probably see everyone as a mark, a target a gamble.

    2 More guns does not mean more deaths. But more criminals, and more criminals out on the street, does mean more anti-social behaviors, and THEY are the people that commit crimes.
    More people set out to commit suicide, will find a way. Should we close all bridges? How do we prevent suicides from their preferred means of prescription drug overdoses?

    === There is MY response. ====
    ====

    Whats next?
    Nemesis 3, Anonymous 3?
    Back to a personal attack.
    That is precisely why I will post pseudo-anonymously.

  42. Data from Nemesis III Says:

    Time to admit that this is a BIG MISTAKE YOU HEARD,
    if CNN or Fox stated it on their news casts. It was a BAD QUOTE.
    ALL Written News and national police statistics say OTHERWISE.

    This is an ERROR:
    “POLICE OFFICERS SHOT AND KILLED DURING THE LAST 11 MONTHS HAS REACHED AN ALL TIME HIGH OF 177…WE HAVN’T HAD NUMBERS THAT HIGH SINCE 1978. THAT’S ABOUT A 38% INCREASE.”
    ————
    The high was 143 in 1973.
    From 1996 to 2005 the average per year was 58 shot and killed.
    The numbers are increasing for 2006 and 2007.
    The thugs are purposely shooting at cops.
    That is a change in ATTITUDE!
    With 300,000,000 ( Yes, 300 Million ) guns in the USA for DECADES,
    it is NOT the comparatively slight increase in guns or their availability
    for law abiding citizens that Police have to worry about.
    IT IS THE CRIMINALS. IT HAS ALWAYS BEEN THE CRIMINALS
    that Law abiding Citizens and the Police have had to worry about.
    .
    ———————————–
    I have YET to read that an NRA member was in the drug trade,
    shot and killed indiscriminately in the neighborhood to protect his turf,
    and has gone out to ‘hunt’ the Police.

    But there are many through a deceitful use of erroneous syllogistic logic
    and verbal scheming would have the general public believe through slick,
    misleading and persuasive language that it is the NRA and
    its membership that are responsible for the deterioration of our cities.

    The initial blog entry by Gerry would have the readers believe that the NRA would support the wholesale distribution of guns to everyone
    without a conviction or a mental health problem.

    That premise MISSES the FACT that the NRA is the WORLDS leading
    private organization that promotes, teaches and encourages Gun Safety.

    The NRA supports and governs shooting matches, including Police and
    Military matches. The NRA primarily supplies trained and certified
    individuals to instruct the public on proper procedures for getting
    a permit to Carry Concealed Weapons, and the proper circumstances
    and warnings for the safe and proper parameters for using the weapon
    in self defense and the defense of others.
    .

  43. Gerry Fulcher Says:

    ARE YOU KIDDING ME? I said that the heroic woman who shot the gunman at New Life church was a former police officer…and you guys spent to days telling me I’m wrong because you couldn’t find that reported anywhere………well I don’t know where you are doing your research, so I did it for you
    I JUST WENT TO GOOGLE
    “woman who shot gunman at New Life church
    THE VERY FIRST FREAKIN’ THING THAT CAME UP WAS A STORY WHICH SAID”
    “…..SECURITY GAURD WHO HAD LAW ENFORCEMET EXPERIENCE…..”
    That really wasn’t difficult…..where the hell have you been looking?
    Don’t bother apologizing….I know that you developmentally delayed.

  44. Data from Nemesis III Says:

    Time to admit that this is a BIG MISTAKE YOU HEARD,
    if CNN or Fox stated it on their news casts. It was a BAD QUOTE.
    ALL Written News and national police statistics say OTHERWISE.

    This is

    THE ERROR that started this blog entry :

    “POLICE OFFICERS SHOT AND KILLED DURING THE LAST 11 MONTHS HAS REACHED AN ALL TIME HIGH OF 177…WE HAVN’T HAD NUMBERS THAT HIGH SINCE 1978. THAT’S ABOUT A 38% INCREASE.”

    IT IS PATENTLY WRONG, AND SO ARE YOU THE MORE YOU REPEAT IT.

    ===
    Yes the lady did have law enforcement experience,
    I believe I acknowledged that. Some bloggers also claim she was
    charged with police brutality. Unsubstantiated, I left that out.
    Likewise, it did not specify, the level of her Law enforcement training or
    where she was an officer.
    But she was not at the church as a paid guard.
    She was clearly a volunteer.
    A trained Infantry-man or Sailor could also have done the job.
    Cops do not have the only access to decision making in
    relationship to guns.
    NOT even SELF PROCLAIMED and EXCLUSIVE EXPERTS like YOURSELF.
    ===
    GERRY, JUST ADMIT your opening premise is flawed information.
    The data was submitted. More cops were killed by motor vehicles.
    === I repeat the Stats from:

    Preliminary 2007 Law Enforcement Officer Fatality Statistics
    as of December 15, 2007

    ……………………2007…..2006…..%Change
    Total Fatalities…..182…….141……..+29%
    Gunshots…………..66………50……..+32%
    Traffic Incidents….81……….71…….+14%
    Other Causes…….35……….20………+7%
    .

  45. LIZ ALLEN Says:

    Any patriotic american who believes giving up our guns…is the right thing to do! Think again. I have my entire life been opposed to guns and actually delivered my 7 year old son to the Army Recrutiting Center on Kirkwood Highway…informng them to take his name off any list that would send him to kill for the US military industrial complex. I was opposed to gun ownership (except for rifles for hunting) coming from a huge family of hunters….however when Ronald Reagun was elected and then the Nazi supporting Bush crime family, GHBush and now the idiot son, I realized that our founding fathers really were genius’s! They knew that one day this democracy would be under seige, would be destroyed by its own government from within (which is occuring right now)….so hell no the only reason the New World Order Bush crime family hasn’t already committed martial law…is because we are a well armed nation. And besides, its our right under the Consitution.

    I don’t want to hear any bogeyman stories about cops being killed, of course cops will ge killed, we live in the most violent societies on earth. Keep showing those cop movies, and violent movies that depict killing of all kinds, while the population becomes even more desentized…and the killing continues. Keep committing ilegal wars and invasions of innocent people, killing indiscriminately…and you are showing the young, “that life really doesn’t matter”…look what the government does on a daily basis.

  46. Earth Times, UPI service Says:

    Law enforcement deaths up by 28 percent
    Posted on : 2007-12-27 | Author : General News Editor
    News Category : US

    WASHINGTON, Dec. 27 (UPI) Statistics released Thursday show that 2007 was the deadliest year since 1989 for law enforcement officers in the United States.

    The National Law Enforcement Officers Memorial Fund reported that 186 officers were killed, a 28 percent increase over 2006.

    Officers killed by gunfire and traffic-related events rose. Traffic deaths reached a record high of 81.

    Handguns were used in the deaths of 51 officers. Rifles killed nine officers and shotguns eight.

    “In 2007, our nation’s law enforcement officers were confronted with more brazen, heavily armed and cold-blooded criminals than they have faced in many years,” said Craig W. Floyd, chairman and CEO of the organization.

    Copyright 2007 by United Press International

    Print Source :
    http://www.earthtimes.org/articles/show/165091.html
    © 2007 earthtimes.org. All Rights Reserved.

Leave a Reply

